Skip to content

~Thai Coconut Dessert~Kanom Tuy~

March 17, 2010

~

~

Kanom Tuy, is a  Thai coconut dessert. Everytime I go to a Thai restaurant, I look forward to having this particular dessert. So far the best Kanom Tuy that I had was in Chabaa Thai Restaurant, in Manyunk, a chic trendy neighborhood of Philadelphia. I think it’s a special item, not always on the menu. It’s usually presented warm with a tropical fruit like freshly cut mangos or papayas. It only has 4 ingredients like coconut milk, rice flour, sugar & water. Please note this was my first attempt at making this delicious dessert and the recipe turned out pretty good. I’m an amateur when it comes to Thai desserts but this recipe was very simple.  I just love this sweet & creamy coconut dessert. It’s almost like coconut rice pudding but served warm with fresh fruit. Try it next time at your favorite Thai restaurant or better yet at your home!
~
~
  • INGREDIENTS:
  • 8 oz can of coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup rice flour
  • 1/4  cup or little less, warm water
  • a pinch of salt.
~
  • METHOD:
  • In a deep non-stick pot add coconut milk
  • Turn on the heat to medium low
  • stir in the rice flour while the coconut milk is cold or luke warm but not hot
  • add sugar & salt
  • Keep stirring constantly until the mixture gets thick
  • add the warm water and stir well. turn off the heat.
  • pour the mixture into small bowls
  • refrigerate for an hour.
  • Serve warm, recommended. Best to warm in a steamer not a microwave.
  • Garnish with fresh-cut papaya or mango
~

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 6:12 am

    I can imagine how decadent and delicious this would be. I love anything with coconut so I will be giving this recipe a go. You have such a lovely presentation as well.

  2. March 19, 2010 2:10 pm

    I love this..I’m nuts for coconuts too 🙂 this is so similar to what we call “kalamay” – a native delicacy in the Philippines..

  3. March 20, 2010 7:43 am

    Nice work! I constantly use coconut milk and just bought some rice flour. Hmmmm, I’ll take this as a sign and make this pudding the next time I’m craving something creamy.

Leave a comment